Why I lead

I lead because it’s important and it matters and because it is part of my being.  I’m not talking about being a saviour, but about making a contribution to my community and ultimately to my students.  I was a leader as a kid, organizing the neighbourhood children for soccer or hockey games.  I worked with trouble teens as a camp counselor right after high school and I was a leader in my school before ever becoming an administrator.

Having progressed as a leader into a position that allows me to influence change on a greater scale, I can’t imagine ever stepping back.  Even though being a VP is the hardest job I’ve ever had, I don’t think I could ever give it up.  The more I work in education, the more I realize how important the school has become to so many of our students, in ways beyond purely academics.  I strive to make our school a warm and welcoming place so that our students feel safe and comfortable being in our building.  I feel very lucky to be in a position where I’m able to affect positive change and it is now my duty to continue in this way.  Finally, although there are many days when I am exhausted emotionally in my job, I do have to confess that being a leader and helping others makes me feel really good.

Leave a Reply

